Free trade area will unite Africa, eradicate acronyms

There are plans for South Africa to become part of a free trade area (FTA) between 26 countries ? with a combined population of 530 million ? which belong to three economic communities. South Africa is part of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) which is to partner with the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa) and the East African Community (EAC). ?Learn more about the potential for an overall customs union, eradicating the need for acronyms, in Africa and how it will promote freer trade and efficiency. ?To learn more Click here

Multimedia Resources

Multimedia Resources

Multimedia Resources brings together valuable multimedia resources on free trade from the past and present to help enhance learning and advocacy in free trade.


Essentials of Free Trade

Making the Case for Free Trade

Audios on Free Trade

News and Events

News & Events


Chile, Japan to scrap tariffs for expansion of economic partnership

Chile and Japan are looking to expand their economic partnership by eliminating tariffs, Chile’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs said Monday. A bilateral commission of the Chile-Japan Strategic Economic Partnership Accord met last week to discuss extending import tariff exemptions to more goods, the ministry said in a statement. Chile and Japan, along with 10 other […]

Truck Border Crossing

Non-tariff barriers dog EAC

DAR ES SALAAM, Tanzania – The East African Community (EAC) has been advised to set a target for intra-EAC trade growth for this year of 15% by promptly eliminating Non-Tariff Barriers (NTBs). Peter Kiguta,  the Director General Customs and Trade at the EAC Secretariat was speaking at the 16th EAC Regional Forum on NTBs held […]